FLAME UP!

FLAME UP!

Tricky Hat presents The Flames

The Flames will reignite in a striking and innovative mix of film, music and performance to explore stories about life after fifty, presenting a fresh look at how we approach ageing.

Join The Flames for a unique performance of devised work, taking inspiration from everyday life, to challenge pre-conceived ideas of how older people think and what they aspire to.

Created and Performed by The Flames. Supported by Creative Scotland and Garfield Weston.

Do you want to join The Flames?

Are you over 50 and do you have a story to tell?

Tricky Hat is welcoming people to join their performance company The Flames, to create a show that challenges pre-conceived ideas of how older people think and what they aspire to.

The Flames will work with Tricky Hat’s creative team in a series of workshops in Edinburgh, Glasgow, Bathgate and the Highlands in 2023, before presenting a multi-disciplinary performance.

We welcome people from all walks of life and gender identity. No experience is necessary, and participation is free. To find out more, come to one of our information sessions. For registering your interest, and if you have any questions, please e-mail info@trickyhat.com

Flames @ Summerhall, Edinburgh

Information session: Saturday 14th January 2023, 11am – 12.30pm

Workshops: Saturday 21st January, Saturday 28th January, Saturday 4th February, Saturday 11th February, Saturday 18th February, 11am-4pm

Rehearsal: Saturday 24th February, 10am – 5pm

Performances: Saturday 25th February, 3pm & 7pm

Flames @ Regal Theatre, Bathgate

Information session: Wednesday 22nd February 2023, 11am – 12.30pm

Workshops: Wednesday 8th March, Wednesday 15th March, Wednesday 22nd March, Wednesday 29th March, 11am – 4pm

Rehearsal: Thursday 30th March 11am – 4pm

Performance: Friday 31st March, time TBC

Flames @ CCA, Glasgow

Information session: TBC

Workshops: Saturday 6th May, Saturday 13th , Saturday 20th May, Saturday 27th May, Saturday 3rd June, 11am – 4pm

Rehearsal: Friday 9th June, 11am-4pm

Performance: Saturday 10th June, 3pm & 7pm

Flames @ Highlands, venue TBC

Dates: 26th June – 2nd July 2023

Previous participants said:

“Being a Flame re-awakened my adventurous spirit”

 “I have loved being immersed in the creative process and have been hugely inspired by other Flames. The creative team has been brilliant, supportive, inclusive, insightful, and fun. They created an atmosphere of trust necessary to bring the best out of us.

 “I trained as an actress and has always relied on other’s script. Now I need to write my own story”.

 We look forward to collaborating with you!

Photo credit: Jassy Earl

Top